A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the ING New York City Marathon

Off the bat I must confess that though I run a lot, and though I am one of those guys that wear extremely short runner splits and singlets, I am far from a runner.  If anything, I run because I’m not much good at other sports.  Not that I’m much good at running either — my fastest 5k on record is 25:45, 5 miler at 40:54, and marathon at 04:28:46.

So when I went on my online bank account to find out that New York Road Runners stole my money accepted my lottery registration for the 2012 ING New York City Marathon, I knew that this was more than just a usual sign up.

For one, my family will actually be able to see this.  Not that they didn’t want to in my past events, I’m sure.  But as the New York Marathon is one of the highest profiled running events in the WORLD, I can’t exactly just quit halfway through walk half the route.  Now that I know that I can actually DO a marathon, the purpose for this year’s marathon training is to actually DO WELL on a marathon.  And what better place to start than New York.

So follow my adventures, reader, subscribe if you want.  Read my sufferings and indignities as I train.  I won’t be able to write every day (maybe), but I will post my musings, my observations, and photos along the way.  Thanks for joining.

And while we’re at it, I am also doing the Disneyland Half Marathon this Veteran’s day to earn my 2012 Coast-to-Coast Medal with Disney, and that link is for those who want to register through charity.   I’m fundraising for my race entry with Team Jake of the A-T Cure Team.  Anyone who wants to help me raise money please donate to that cause.  They’re an amazing group of people and I would be so happy for your help.

 

Leave a Reply

